Seder Dietary Guidelines

Seder Plate

Special foods prepared in special ways are an important part of the Passover Seder celebration. We have Passover recipes available for your use if you wish. If you prefer to use your own recipes, please observe these dietary laws associated with Passover.

Important!!! The following items should be AVOIDED:

  1. Grain products (associated with fermentation):
    Wheat, Rice, Oats, Rye — e.g. no food made with flour
    Liquids made from grain alcohol
  2. Legumes (associated with fermentation, leavening gasses)
    Dried beans, dried peas, tofu, soy sauce.
  3. Leavened bakery products:
    Breads, cakes, cookies, etc. made with yeast, baking soda, baking powder or a fermented product.
  4. Pork products:
    Ham, bacon, pork chops, sausages, etc.
  5. Shellfish
    Shrimp, crab, etc.
  6. Avoid using dairy products (milk, cheese, butter, yogurt).

Substitute the following items in your own recipes:

  • non-dairy margarine for butter (eg. Nucoa)
  • matzo meal for bread crumbs
  • matzo cake meal for flour
  • beaten eggs as a leavening agent for bakery products

 

Home

What's Happening

UUCPA News

 

Finding Community

Sunday Morning

Family Activities

Social Activities

Photo Albums

Email lists

Directory

Volunteer/Talent Survey

 

Location

Campus Map

Contact UUCPA

 

UUCPA Sitemap

Search Our Site